May Monthly Look-Back

Recaps, look-backs, wrap ups, whatever you want to call them, I like them. So even though I’ve only just launched my blog, and have a total of *four* published posts (five, if you count this one) I’m writing one.

I’m sit at my little corner desk slurping down a chocolate latte. *ahhhh* It’s about the only way I enjoy coffee. That and mocha’s, I discovered. Have you ever had a peanut butter mocha? They’re quite amazing, and taste nothing like peanut butter. (however, I do live on adore enjoy peanut butter, so that wouldn’t be a bad thing.

MLB May 2016

I’m rambling now. Grab your preferred morning beverage of choice and let’s look back at everything that happened round these parts in May!

(Just so you know, I finished my late. Now its gone.)

alixmcalpine cat sad crying tears

 

Books Read: 1

This month was a rather sad month for reading. That is, it’s sad if you’re looking at the numbers. I mean, one whole book? Some reader I am. And I finished it on May 3rd, which means that most of it got read in April. I’m such a cheater.

Gone are the days where I devour ten plus Warrior cat books in a single month. ๐Ÿ˜‰

77684
But I’ve been taking my dear sweet time, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Since I finished the Brick in December, I’ve been strolling along and thoroughly enjoying The Lord of the Rings.ย  It’s almost over now, I’ve got sixty pages left of The Return of the King. So maybe My book count will be two by May 31st. ๐Ÿ˜‰ *update, I finished the book, minus the appendixes.*

My TBR pile isn’t happy with my choices of reading abnormally long books (ummm it took me two years to read Les Mis, but it was so worth it. I sobbed) and then taking an extremely long time to read them. But too bad for it.

 

Writing That Got Wrote:

harry potter idk shrug confused dumbledore

It’s been a methodical pace this month, and not a lot got accomplished. I re-caped my last several months editing my WIP, The Sparrow Who Couldn’t Sing, and the only thing that happened since then was another read-through. Lots of small tweaks, mostly with passive voice, and scouring for undiscovered plot holes.

In the next few weeks, I’m hoping to send it away to a beta reader or two, and then work on Characters.

 

Favorite Blog Posts Read:

I didn’t really keep track this month. But next month I hope to have a more neater collection of valuable posts for y’all.

{A Writer’s Faith: Things to Know Before Sending Your Novel to Beta Readers}

{Chronicling The Craft: How to Identify and Cut Down on Lengthy Descriptions}

{How I Gained My First 1,000 Followers on Twitter}

{//a guest post by my novel: scarlet}

 

Blog Posts That Got Published:

My blog was started! Four posts were published by me! Passive voice is annoying!

(did you catch my passive voice? ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

{A New Beginning}

{Beautiful People #17: May Edition}

{The Editing Journey: The Past Four Months}

{The J. K. Rowling Plot Spreadsheet: A Method For Your Madness]!

 

ย Life That Happened:

I finished school around May 2nd, at least, I finished up co-op classes. Government and Econ? check. Psychology? Check. *wipes sweat off brow*

For those of you that don’t already know, I’m homeschooled. (or an inside joke, I’m home-teached) So I finished up pretty early because I pace differently.

But now I’m doing Geometry all summer. So far, it’s not too bad.This is where pacing differently bites you in the tush, because I went super duper slow in math a few years ago. *sigh* one must catch up.

ALSO if you want to make really comfy pants with only a skirt, check out this pin. I’m addicted.

 

I’ve talked about myself for much to long now, tell me about you! What did you read? Did you write anything? Or did something huge happen in your life that sucked up all your time?

I’m all ears. ๐Ÿ™‚

Jeneca

 

14 thoughts on “May Monthly Look-Back

  1. Mochas are the only way I enjoy coffee as well. Well a peppermint mocha or Java chip frappe but now I’m rambling about coffee, and I’ll have to try the peanut butter. And my post! I really liked yours about the plot outlining sheet. I plan but not that much :p and LOTR!!!!! Those books are really good. They took me two months to finish all three….. It takes a while to get through them but it’s worth it. Ah and I’m doing mah through the summer also. #homeschoolerlife

    Like

    1. Oooh I’ll have to try a peppermint mocha. I haven’t branched put very much with my coffees yet, ๐Ÿ˜‚.
      I like to plan. Usually it happens after I write, but, ya know. Have you ever done NaNoWriMo?
      What math curriculum do you use? I’ve been doing Teaching Textbooks lately and I love it.

      Like

  2. Great post. I love recaps too ๐Ÿ™‚ OH MY WORD, I loved the Warrior cats books when I read them. Awesomeness.

    So…I read about 7/8 books this month, which is a lot for me (Kingdom Keepers #3, Cinder, Scarlet, Holly Heart [vol. 2], Unwanteds #7) (and yes. That’s five, but Holly Heart has like 5 books in it) and I’m currently FINALLY getting to reading the Narnia series. Almost finished with The Magicians Nephew.
    I wrote just about 1,300 words this month. Not the best, but I was cooling off after Camp NaNo last month.

    Ahh! I’m homeschooled, too! (I found that my phone doesn’t recognize homeschooled as one word…) But anyway, go homeschooling!!!!

    I personally don’t like coffee… It’s too bitter, but I love peanut butter! #pbforlife. Hot chocolate is so much better than coffee ๐Ÿ™‚

    (That first gif is hilarious to me for some reason. LSIMYBIWFEFMTALOL)

    I love your blog, btw It’s so pretty! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I never finished all the warrior cat books, but I think they’re still publishing them ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
      What do you think about the Lunar Chronicles? I’ve never read them. And Narnia! Yay!!
      That’s much more than I’d dare write after NaNo. Good job ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ‘
      Coffee is growing on me, as long as there is much milk and sugar.
      And thank you for your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, they’re still publishing them. I think the next comes out in October?
        The Lunar Chronicles are sooooo good! Whenever I pick one up to read, I seriously have to FORCE myself to stop reading.
        I love the Narnia movies. They’re so good ๐Ÿ‘Œ
        I can only drink coffee if it has much milk and sugar, too ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  3. Yay for Lord of the Rings! That series was my gateway to fantasy, so I’m always happy to find out other people are reading it. Which LOTR book would you say is your favorite (if you have a fave)?

    Passive voice is tough to avoid, isn’t it? I slip into it from time to time, too. It feels like a bad habit that we need to break, doesn’t it?

    Mmmmmmm, PEANUT BUTTERRRRRRRRRR. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love it, too, especially on English muffins for breakfast or in a dessert with chocolate. It’s a deadly combination, but it’s so, SO good.

    Good luck with geometry. Math wasn’t one of my strong subjects (any branch of it, really – I’m just glad I can do simple addition and subtraction. *blushes*)

    Thanks so much for highlighting my editing tips post, btw!

    Like

    1. Hmm…. that’s hard to say. I think I enjoyed The Fellowship or The Two Towers the most. That may only be because I *just* finished Return of the King. Still wrapping my head around it, haha. Which is your favourite?
      Peanut butter and chocolate a frequent combos in my life! Dessert, smoothies, oatmeal… it’s a problem. Just add bananas ๐Ÿ˜œ
      You’re welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t know if I have a favorite either, actually. *lol* Some fans do, so that’s why I was curious. But I find it too difficult to decide which book I like best – and the same goes with the movies!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. May was a great reading month for me, despite the fact that I had 5 exams (including 3 APs) and a 3-part final project that I had to pass to finish high school. I also went hiking (yay!). Anyway, off topic- I read 8 books and I’ll probably finish another before the 31st. I used to be homeschooled too! I really miss moving at my own pace and not having to do group projects. I also learned nothing in geometry (except stupid things like a triangle has three sides and some annoying kids songs) so I hope you have better luck. (life advice: don’t take calc). I took a year and a half to read Lord of the Rings, so well done you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Ahahaha thanks for the life advice. I’m trying to get away with as little math as possible; it’s just not my forte. And wow, that does sound like a good reading month!

      Like

  5. Hey Jeneca! Thanks so much for the pingback! ^_^ I’m honored to have my blog post listed amongst your month’s favorites. *bows*

    Like

  6. Did you say that you just launched your blog? Wow. You’re doing awesome. Already your posts are fantastic and you have a bunch of people commenting. Go you!

    Also, huzzah for homeschooling! I’ve been homeschooled all my life and am hoping that it stays that way. It’s just a really neat opportunity, especially with all the horrid things going on in public schools nowadays.

    // katie grace
    a writer’s faith

    Like

Leave a Reply

