Don’t Quote Me! #1 {A Collection of Quotes Found While Reading}

Don't quote Me!

Happy June, everyone! June is my favorite month, probably because it’s my birth month, and it’s the start of summer. (in my mind, anyway.)

Lately, I’ve been collecting quotes in my notebook/common place book (I’ll have a post on that soon, hopefully.) But I wanted to share a few of my favorites, and then talk about then.

But don’t quote me on them, because I didn’t say it. 😉

WAS THAT NOT A TACKY PUN OR WHAT?

Liv haha mlp pony rainbow dash

Probably not. Okay, I’ll shut up. Let’s get to the quotes.

1. “Happy is he who is made cautious by observing the dangers of others.”
Pelatiah Webster, Not Worth a Continental

I found this reading “A Free Market Reader,” one of the required books for my Econ class. (I actually found quite a few good quotes from my textbooks) The context, then, is mostly monetary mistakes of others, but I think this is really accurate in all circumstances.

2. “I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil.” -Gandalf, The Return of the King

:’)

{Did you know that different kinds of tears, sad ones, happy ones or even onion tears, have different chemical make ups?}

3. “…the thought pierced him that, in the end, the shadow was only a small a passing thing; there was light and high beauty for ever beyond it’s reach.” The Return of the King, J. R. R. Tolkien

Isn’t that the truth! Though the the world may fall away, the Light is still there, and ALWAYS will be there.

I love the scene after this where Sam Gamgee, despite his surroundings, despite his situation, just curls up and goes to sleep. You go, Sam.

4. We have to take reality as it comes to us: there is no good jabbering on about what it ought to be like, or what we should have expected it to be like.” Mere Christianity, C. S. Lewis.

Less jabbering is good.

5. “Many that live deserve death, and some that die deserve life. Can you give it to them? Then do not be too eager to deal out death in judgement. For even the very wise cannot see all ends.” The Fellowship of the Ring, J. R. R. Tolkien.

This. You’ve probably heard it before, but it isn’t just fabulous foreshadowing. It’s so true. We can’t decide who gets to live or die, or even smaller punishments. We are NOT the judge.

6. “This world is a great sculptor’s shop. We are the statues and there is a rumor going round the shop that some of us are some day going to come to life.” Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis.

This creates such a mental picture! Story prompt, anyone?

I’m not quite sure why  did only six quotes. I had sixteen to choose from. Perhaps next month I’ll have more, but maybe I’ll have less? The pool of books in any given month is bound to be different. Either way, I hope you enjoyed. 🙂

So tell me, which of these quotes is your favorite? Have you gathered up any quotes this month (or year) from the books you’ve read?

(Brownie points if you share your favorite quote in the comments!)
5 thoughts on “Don’t Quote Me! #1 {A Collection of Quotes Found While Reading}

  1. I love all the Tolkien and Lewis quotes! Mere Christianity was a bit of a dense book to get through, but oh-so-good. Some goes for LOTR.

    Thanks for visiting my blog awhile back. I meant to come over and visit earlier. I’m glad I finally did. Nice blog!

    Like

  2. I reeeeally like the #4 one. Omg, it’s so true and actually it’d be very sensible if everyone took notice of it. XD Also YAY for Tolkien!! AND CS LEWIS. Such amazing quotes for sure. 😀

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

  3. These quote are really nice! It’s been such a long time since I read LOTR. I especially like the one about light 🙂 (and I didn’t know that about tears, although I’ve studied biology for 2 years). One of m favourite quotes is just funny ‘We were loitering, which is like littering except with human beings as trash.’ which is from The Schwa was Here by Neal Shusterman (it’s a really funny book)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

