Beautiful People #18: June 2016

Beautiful People is a linkup hosted by Cait of Paper Fury and Sky of Further Up and Further In. Not only is it a lot of fun, but you get to learn a lot about your characters, too.

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n201_zpsw3b8il6s

I considered jumping books for this Beautiful people. All my characters in TSWCS (The Sparrow Who Couldn’t Sing) had similar childhoods, being taken into their prospective school at the age of three. But they still HAD childhoods. They just weren’t surrounded by loving family members and living in a cute little home.

So, we’re returning to Sparrow/Lyric. I thought I’d try a different style of interview.

I’m bold, she’s Italic.

 

 

Hello, Lyric! Or should I call you Sparrow? Anyway, let’s start with your earliest childhood memory.

Call me what you like, I suppose. You know I prefer Sparrow, but it doesn’t matter. Hm… my earliest memory is choppy. There was a tall, faceless lady, but then she was gone. I was crying, and one of the Nurses brought me through the big, metal doors. Honestly, it’s probably just a crazy three-year-old nightmare.

What was your best and worst childhood experiences?

My best childhood experience was meeting Peyton. When they brought in all the little boys from the boy wing of the NI, I was horrified. So I just hid behind a tree, until this little ruffle topped kid fell out of it in front of me. He was so close to crying, so close to bring all the nurses over to see what was wrong. But he didn’t. He said my singing sounded like ‘a Sparrow that flies,’ so I asked him what falls out of trees, you know, to try and figure out what to call him. He said I could call him Shrew, but I’m still not sure what the heck that means.

A Shrew is a kind of mouse creature that lives in the ground.  Anyway, what was your childhood home like?

Before we moved into the main Phase dorms, we all stayed in the NI. It was just a huge glassy room filled with everything we could want. Beds, food, toys, whatever. There were too many girls in that room to count. But that was only in the beginning, before thee  Phases started and they made half of the girls walk down a long hallway. 

Hm, well then, what’s something that scared you as a child?

The long hallway. It was just as scary (if not more) than getting abused by the Nurses , or being shamed in front of all the girls. Everyone that went down that hallway didn’t come back, or at least we never saw them again.

Who did you look up to the most, as a child?

Idella. I hate to say it, but at the same time, I’m not alone. Everyone ‘looked up’ to Idella… we kinda still do, even though we know who she is now.

Did you have a favorite and a least favorite food in your childhood?

You know? I was pretty content with whatever I got to eat, whenever the nurses remembered to feed me, all was good.

But, to pick a favorite… they used to give us this yummy syrup stuff. I don’t know what it did, and it had an aftertaste after awhile, but it was good.

If you could have your childhood again, would you change anything?

Wow. Change anything? Hm… It sounds dangerous, changing something, because then something in the present wouldn’t be the same. I would haven’t walked down the path on on now without the things that happened to me. But, if what happened to me had to happen anyway no matter what, I would change hanging out with Idella. I would try and befriend those girls, the ones who disappeared.

Deep stuff, Spar. So, what kind of child were you? Curious? Wild? Quiet? Devious?

Haha, I’m not that deep. And don’t call me Spar, please. I was normal, I guess, until the mirror incident. After that, I was the kid over in the corner. Trust no one, speak to no one, get hurt by no one. I’m still kind of like that, I suppose. But Shrew helped.

What was your relationship with your parents and siblings?

I don’t remember them, not really anyway. Siblings? Those are like, other kids that your mom and dad have, right?

Right… moving on. What did you want to be when you grew up? Is that what you became?

Well, I wanted to be a bird when I was little. But the only thing I got out of that was a nickname from Shrew. After I got over the fact I couldn’t fly, I wanted to write songs and music.

But all I got out of that was another name. Lyric. Here I am, stuck singing songs them instead of writing them.

It’s a cruel world, you know? Thanks for reading, folks! I can’t wait for the next Beautiful People. XDWhat were your characters’ childhoods like? Have you ever done Beautiful People Before?

 

6 thoughts on “Beautiful People #18: June 2016

  1. I love the format of your interview! It’s always great to be able to see a character’s voice in writing. I’m also super interested in where the girls go when they walk down the long hallway. Very mysterious… 🙂
    Most of my character’s childhoods have elements of tragedy to them, or at least some event that shaped them into who they are. This time was actually my second time doing Beautiful People, and I’m really enjoying it! XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And elements of tragedy during their childhood hours always shape people, right? Haha.
      This is mine second time too. We must be Beautiful People twins, ha. Can’t wait for the next round!

      Like

  2. I like how you did this like an interview! It’s so interesting sometimes to answer as your character in first person–I think it helps their voice shine through. And Sparrow sounds really cool!

    Like

Leave a Reply

