The Fantasic Dialog Tag: 5 Pieces of Dialogue From TSWCS

(Again, with the long titles. TSWCS stands for The Sparrow Who Couldn’t Sing. Don’t worry, you’ll get used to it.

Maybe.)

Fantastic Dialog Tag

Anyway, I was tagged by S. M. Metzler over at “Tea With Tummnus.” This whole tag business was started by Nate Philbrick at You Write Fiction. The whole goal is to post five of your favorite out-of-context pieces of dialog.

It’s really fun, and I love hearing snippets of other peoples writing. All of these are take from my WIP, TSWCS, which you can read more about here. It’s midway through Draft two, so these quotes will, eventually, be tweaked.

“But they feel so familiar, it’s driving me up a wall. You’re smart, I figured you might know what they are.”

“My relationship with pizza is too far progressed. I’d hate to break up after all we’ve been through.”

“I’m just trying to say that I feel like there’s a lot of stuff the teachers haven’t taught us. But that doesn’t mean its not true. Okay, fine, a better analogy: Look at this building. They didn’t tell us it was out here. Instead, look what happened to it? Look what they did to these books that have stories of Jesus? Maybe they didn’t want us to know, Spar.”

“There’s something more than all of this, something better… you are greatly loved.”

“I’ve got God on my side. They’re the least of my worries, Sparrow, and they should be the least of yours, too.”

 

Whew! That was much more difficult than I thought! I don’t have any ‘mentor’ or ‘wise person,’ characters, so the amount of wise quotes are lacking, hah. Both of my MC’s are just trying to figure things out 😉

So now It’s time to tag folks:

Sara Letournaeu

 

Melissa @ Quill Pen Writer

Hannah @ Furious Ever Afters

and YOU! Honestly, there’s a bunch of people I want to tag but…Feel free to take this tag to go forth and share your dialog! 🙂

Which piece is your favorite? I dare you to share a quote form your own WIP in the comments below!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Fantasic Dialog Tag: 5 Pieces of Dialogue From TSWCS

  1. I love these quotes. XD Especially the pizza one; so great! Thanks for tagging me, I will definitely get to this one as soon as I can (and have an excuse to dig through my WIP hunting for sass and wisdom.)
    I’ll just a slightly depressing short quote from one of my WIPs here: “Why can’t you just let me hurt? All I want is to grieve for them. You’re trying to lock me up in a cage of sunshine, but that doesn’t end the darkness. Just let me hurt.”

    Like

  2. You tagged me! 😀 I’ll definitely take up this challenge at some point. Will link back to yours when I do!

    As for your quotes, the one about pizza made me laugh. I like moments of unexpected humor, regardless of which character it’s coming from. And, the middle one is thought-provoking. It seems to give some insight into the story world for TSWCS and how some characters believe that things could be different – and that they WERE different in the past, too. Nice choices!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

