The Editing Journey: May and June Editing Stuff

This is the second post in my “Editing Journey” series. There is no need to go back and read previous posts for this one to make sense. They will all probably be a combination of trying to figure out what to do next, some flailing, and perhaps some actual editing in between.

TEJ Update June 2016

Things have been happening with my WIP this month. For now I’ll just be referring to it as my WIP because let’s face it (again) “The Sparrow Who Couldn’t Sing,” is a really winded title. I’m currently tossing up different names. sooo.

Anyhow, I mentioned have been happening with my WIP.  And they have, even if I feel like I haven’t done anything. Actually, this month, I’ve done quite a lot of things.

So here’s a list because lists look, sound, and feel accomplished:

  1. TOOK A BREAK.

I finished another read through at the beginning of June, and took a break to go to a relative’s house for a while. It was hard saying to myself, “NO you cannot bring your laptop.” But I survived.

sad peanuts lonely linus grief
I felt like this at the beginning of the month.

When I got back, my birthday arrived, and then more June stuff happened. So my break kind of got extended? That was fine, though, because during my break I….

2. SENT MY WIP TO A SINGLE BETA READER.

I know it sounds funny and not very productive, but I needed it. While on break I sent it to a friend who had been asking to read it since 2014. It helped me to step back and breath. Plus, she got back to me in a week with some positive feedback.

I really just needed to know it wasn’t as terrible as I thought.

Plus she said she stayed up until 3am reading it.

movies les miserables samantha barks eponine
me

 

3. PLANNED THE THIRD BOOK IN MY TRILOGY.

My WIP is not alone. No, it is the first of TWO sisters! Book 1 was written during NaNo14, book 2 was written during NaNo15 (still un-edited… although I did remove all the typos in May. It only took the entire month…?) and God willing, I’ll write Book 3 this year during NaNo. I’ve been toying with plots and happenings for book three all year… things like a downfall because of Pizza, semi insane/just surviving scenes, concentration camps in the Mojave desert… oh yeah. Should be good.

4. MADE A GAME PLAN.

Once I got my WIP back and stopped day dreaming about November, I made a list of edits that need to happen. It’s things like, “Dai- OVERHAUL. Add scenes w/ him, create level personality…” or “Sidonia- needs purpose! Goals!” and “Sparrow- Internal Voice (more frequent,) External voice (consistent)”

I’m currently focusing on that last one. Going strong?

harry potter ron weasley

 

5. SPENT A WEEK AT CAMP ONE-ON-ONE (KINDA) WITH AN AMAZING PUBLISHED AUTHOR.

I went to one of my most favorite places in the world this week, and for my studio (it’s an arts camp) I chose Creative Writing. That meant spending 14 hours in one week with six amazing fellow teen writers just brainstorming, planning, plotting and creating new worlds. Not only did we split the sun, but we reopened Alcatraz, made Pangaea happen,etc.

Our Instructor Lauren was such a godly, genuine woman, not to mention an amazing writer herself. She read my prologue and pointed out so many changes I could make I feel like It’s already stronger.

She also gave me a better focus. By noticing that I was overwhelmed with all the possible edits I could be making, she told me to pick one thing and just do that one thing. I no longer feel like this:

pokemon pokegraphic magika orange islands slowly getting back into making more s

So right now, I’m working on Sparrow’s voice, which is basically making my manuscript less wordy and trying to find the spots where I could make it a lot longer. I’m at 67k right now, and I need to be at around 75k.

 

6. STARTED ANOTHER READ THROUGH.

So much editing is happening now. I’ve gone through my prologue, chapter one and now I’m in chapter two! *yay*

disney llama bring it on emperors new groove kuzco

Tell me, how is your writing coming along? Are you editing, gearing up for the July Camp NaNo, or something else? Is anything standing in the way of your and your WIP?

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “The Editing Journey: May and June Editing Stuff

  1. Yay! It sounds like you made some good progress with your WIP. It’s always great to get good feedback, but it can also hurt when beta readers are a bit brutal. I’ve been taking a break from a big editing project of mine (“break” reads as “I am so frustrated I can’t deal with you right now.”) But I’ve been able to rough draft a lot this month for another WIP, so that’s all good. 🙂
    Good luck with your editing! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are all good things! Sometimes we have to take a short break from our stories for one reason or another. But between the beta-reader, the game-planning, and the one-on-one work with your opening pages, you spent that physical time away from the WIP productively. Go get ’em, Jeneca!

    As for my WIP, I’m about to start editing Chapter 14 (out of 34), so I’m getting close to the halfway point. (MEEP!) What boggles my mind most, though, is how many words I’ve managed to cut from this draft. My goal was 6000 words, which I knew was conservative – and I’ve always blown past it. 😮

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, Thank you Sara. :’)
      Congrats to almost reaching the halfway point! That calls for an ice cream party. And wow, that’s a LOT of words to cut. I’ll take them off your hands, if you don’t need them… I still need another 8k, at the minimum, before it’s an ‘okay’ YA length. *sighs*

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well done! Sounds pretty productive. Unfortunately I’ve let my project come to a complete standstill these past 2-3 months. Literally all I need to do is send it to publishers and see if anyone’s interested, but writing the letters and compiling all I need for various publishing houses is SO HARD. Next week I vow to devote the whole time to it as I really want to try xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my goodness, that is SO STINKING EXCITING! Every now and then I’ll day dream what it’ll be like to scrounge the internet for how-tos on writing a synopsis, query letter, stalking agents and or publishing houses… *sighs*
      Let me know when you start sending stuff out! I’ll be rooting for you. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

