Purposeful Pages Link-Up #1

So excited for this!

If you haven’t heard, Amanda of Scattered Journal Pages and Hannah of Furious Ever Afters started a link up this  month called Purposeful Pages!

What is it, you may ask?

Purposeful Pages is a monthly link-up designed to unite bloggers on answering questions about life, blogging, the Bible, writing, and books.

Here goes!

 

Question One // What verse and chapter of the Bible inspired you the most this past month, and why?

I’m not sure exactly why, but I memorized Mark 11:24 this past week or so:

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in Prayer, believe that you have received it and it will be yours.

Still just thinking about it, and Prayer as a whole. The last bits of ink still cling to my wrist, which is where I write bible verses in little pictographs to help me memorize them.

Question Two // What’s a book (fiction or nonfiction) that you read or continued reading this past month that reminded you of an important truth?

A Time to die reminded me of an important spiritual truth this past month: Shalom. It’s an important idea to follow, and lots of folks in our culture claim to follow after it, or claim to have found it. Although their shalom is a bit different. It lacks roots, and actual purpose or it’s rooted in something that’s temporal, or even worse, it’s rooted in something that’s been uprooted.

Shalom is a Jewish greeting meaning ‘Peace,’ but it also means more than that. One of the names for God is “Yahweh-Shalom,” and Jesus is called Prince of Peace. And true Shalom is found only in God.

Just read A Time to Die.

Question Three // Do you have any goals for yourself this month? If so, what are they?

This month: Camp NaNoWriMo. It’s happening, in fact, it’s happening write now. (sorrynotsorry)

My goal for camp is to add a minimum of 8,000 words to my WIP. It’s currently at 67k, so I’m trying to reach 75k. We’ll see.

Other goals I have this month? 1. Continue plowing through math so I’m not *Quite* so behind next semester, and 2. Attend a farmers & artists market and try to sell some things I’ve crafted.

Question Four // Have you discovered anything new or changed your blog around this past month?

Yes! I’ve discovered Canva, and I wish it was a little more like Picmonkey, or maybe I wish that Picmonkey was a little more like Canva. *shrugs*

I am continuously poking my blog’s design and such. I re-did the header with a 100% free font (let’s just say I’m paranoid about using fonts that are for ‘personal use only’ because what if I someday add Google Analytics and make a few pennies of my blog?) and started a twitter.

I’ve always discovered how important community is  when it comes to writing, and publishing, even.

Question Five // What is your favorite blog post that you wrote in June?

I think it was my Les Miserables post/review, because I took my beaten well loved copy out on my sunny deck and did my first ever “book photo shoot.”

You may not know this, but I’m also a photographer. I’ve photographed many the person and inanimate object in my few years, but never have books been my focus.

and it turned out so pretty. (IMO)
DSC_0039.jpg

 

Question Six // Can you share one quotable thing from your novel/book (if applicable) that you recently wrote?

Well, I’m in the process of editing, and I’m still in the beginning. Nothing is very quotable yet but here’s a snippet from my first chapter anyway:

I glanced up. Idella stood in front of something reflective for the hundredth time today. First, it had been mirrors, small ones, big ones, full length ones, any one she could find in the shops. But just when I thought she was done, there she was, studying herself in the sparkling cafe window. Apparently, I’d underestimated her abilities.

Question Seven // What biblical character would you get along with the most, and why?

This is difficult. I have no idea. Perhaps some of the New Testament women, or maybe Daniel.

Question Eight // Favorite new word unearthed from the dictionary?

OH YES. I found this word a few months back on an editing whim:

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 4.48.19 PM

 

Question Nine // In the blogging world, what’s one thing you have learned about yourself?

I am way too honest and straight forward. Instead of stretching the truth or exaggerating something, I go around in circles over explaining the thing until I am no longer funny, relevant or even sensible.

(But that might be exaggeration.)

Question Ten // What fictional character would you spend the day with, and what would you do?

AHHH. There’s so many possibilities. I’ll say this: Hogwarts. I’ll go to Hogwarts in say, Harry’s third year (even thought I’d be a couple years older. Anything after his third year is just stress) because then there would be Lupin! And Sirius! And all the gang would still be around and just *sigh*

But if I had to pick any one character to hang out with… maybe Leo, from the Heroes of Olympus.( Pre-Calypso Leo.)

Or Anne Shirley, from Anne of Green Gables? We would traipse of into the beautiful Prince Edward Island forestry and I’d hang off every word of her stories and day dream about puffed sleeves…

Well, there you have it! That was really fun. If you want to answer these questions for yourself, just head over to Amanda or Hannah’s blogs that I linked above.

But before you go, pick one of the above questions and answer it for yourself in the comments!

 

5 thoughts on “Purposeful Pages Link-Up #1

  1. Thank you *so* much for participating, Jeneca! I loved all of your answers. And that is such a great picture of Les Mis! 😀
    (I have A Time to Die on my bookshelf in my room now, so I gotta get around to reading it!)

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh I feel the same way about Canva and Picmonkey! I really want someone to combine them so I don’t have to choose between the two each time I make a blog photo. XD A verse that stuck out to me this month was Isaiah 58:12 which my bible version has as “You will be known for repairing the broken places.” I guess I like it because it could mean repairing broken people/ourselves as well as ruins? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

