Monthly Look Back: July 2016

Oh my goodness gracious July is basically OVER. WHAT IS THIS? Oh, oh yes, it’s another monthly look back… didn’t I just write one of these? O_O

MLB July 16

Books Read:

Books july 2016

So this month I read some more Christian Dystopian YA! (I have a post coming up on that soon!) Also, I had the pleasure of reading the Blood of Kings Trilogy by Jill Williamson. IT WAS AMAZING. T’was hard, however, because I used my library free hold/transit system where if you want a book and another library has it, they’ll ship it to you. That mean getting a book then waiting a week or two for the next one. *sigh*

I have written mini reviews for each of these books. Find them on my goodreads!

Writing That Got Wrote:

I’ll just say: Camp NaNoWriMo. I’ve never really done it form start to finish. I always say I will, then write nothing. I’m more of a November NaNoWriMo person. (in all six years I’ve participated, I’ve only not one once. and that was 2010. my first try.)

This month I attempted to boost my WIP’s word count from 69k to 75k. I plan on doing a post once it’s over, but let’s just say I’m having trouble finding places to stick more words O_O

Favorite Blog Posts Read:

I was again bad at interacting in the blogosphere. *will not insert sob story here*

Chronicling The Craft: Adjusting Your Writing Schedule (and Maintaining Your Sanity) In Response to Life Changes @ Sara Letourneau Writer

Dealing with Disappointment @ A Heart Redeemed

10 Types of Writers You’ll Find Online @ To The Barricade!

 

Blog Posts That Got Published:

Using Our Pain

3c42a-bloodtag
This is an open tag! Feel free to participate. 🙂

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n201_zpsw3b8il6s

https://scatteredjournalpages.files.wordpress.com/2016/06/purposeful-pages-meme.jpg?w=605&h=605

My blogging this month was sad. I missed two or three of my days, partially because of life, but still. *sigh* I am quite. happy with the stuff that did manage to get posted. I hope y’all enjoyed it.

(I’m sorry for saying y’all. I don’t even say y’all, or ain’t.)

Life That Happened:

At the beginning of July, it was an absolute frenzy trying to finish an art project of mine in time for 4-H. Thankfully it was completed in time. *wipes sweat off brow*

The rest of the month was consumed in reading, trying to keep my cool while doing math in the summertime, visits to the county fair for cheap and amazing ice cream, family drama, and more.

This week I had the chance to attend my local farmers market, selling some of my art and things from my Etsy shop. It went surprisingly well and was really fun getting to talk to people. And drinking a blended iced vanilla chai latte because O_O

God also moved this month because– long story short– I had a chance to go fly somewhere but after praying about it, it didn’t feel like the right thing to do. So we let it go. But the opportunity arose again and, after more prayer and my mom thinking about it, we’ll both be flying cross country! It’s such a cool opportunity and we’re going to the same state where my WIP is in. *squeals*

How was your month? What books did you read, and how is life treating you?

6 thoughts on “Monthly Look Back: July 2016

  1. I know! It’s mind-boggling that it’s August, isn’t it?? Part of me still wants it to be July, because it’s just not ready for the craziness that’s coming later this month.

    Regarding your WIP: Have you given it to any beta-readers yet? They could help you find other areas that might need bulking up word-wise.

    Thanks very much for sharing the Chronicle link, btw!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! School is looming ahead of me now. o-o
      I did give it to a single beta reader back in June, but they weren’t very thorough. During August I hope to finish up draft two, and at the same time do some posts on what the story is about/build interest, then present it to my readers and see who would like to beta. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. GASP, you’re visiting the state your WIP is in?! Do you mind me asking which one? Because that is awesome.

    Ooh, I really want to read Jill Williamson’s trilogy. It looks so good! I just need to find time… gah. And the books. Since they’re not at my library. 😦

    // katie grace
    a writer’s faith

    Like

    1. It’s in California, even though I didn’t get anywhere close they take place… no random valleys in the mountains or massive orange groves. XD
      YES THAT TRILOGY IS AMAZING. I had to do an inter-library loan to get all three, and they might have all come from different libraries… But I still randomly think about the characters and wish I could read more about them.
      Sorry for taking ages to respond!

      Like

  3. Cool! I can’t believe July is over already *faints with panic and chem homework* I’ve heard of 4 H, but what is it? Some kind of club? I read anomaly and I really disliked it. I didn’t feel like it made sense in terms of the way thalli discovered jesus, and why wasn’t john killed earlier? and the romance = me no shipping. But that was probably just me, and it was a long time ago, like maybe 3 years, so maybe I would feel different if I reread it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is kinda of club, and you do various projects (following all their many rules of course o_o) and then you bring them to be judged and they award ribbons and display them at the county fair. It’s a lot of fun and a cool experiance.
      We all have our own preferences. Like I tried to read Storm Siren and I just couldn’t get into it. I want to try again, perhaps… XD I’m stuck right now with the anomaly series because I just finished book two, but my library system doesn’t book 3 in print or e-book. -.- maybe you would feel different if you read it now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

