Purposeful Pages Link Up: August Edition

Purposeful Pages Meme

It’s that time of the month again!

Purposeful Pages is a link-up hosted by Amanda over at Scattered Journal Pages, and Hannah at Furious Ever Afters. It goes live on the first Saturday of every month. Thankfully you can jump in at any time during the month until the next set of questions goes live!

…and official description, because I lack eloquence in describing:

Purposeful Pages is a monthly link-up designed to unite bloggers on answering questions about life, blogging, the Bible, writing, and books.

So, without further adieu,

(I always say that. I must come up with a better transition.)

Question One // What book of the Bible has taught you the most this month?

For a few  solid days I read the passage in Matthew that talked about anxiety and worrying.  I’d find myself climbing into bed each night with my heart racing, pent up thoughts of the next day, next week. It was anywhere between trying to come up with new entrepreneurial ways to make money (or improve on old ways,) or just thinking about all the things I’m trying to accomplish all at once, including over thinking an upcoming trip. (Not worrying per say, but over planning, over thinking, etc. Not helpful thinking. XP)

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on…do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious about itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

See the full section here.

Question Two // How would you react if you were in the positions of either Esther, if you’re a girl, or Daniel, if you’re a guy?

Oh man. I might have reacted the same as Esther, except maybe more of a freak out and begging others to pray for me. I would be torn up about what to do, but the guilt would get to me eventually. Right before the time ran out.

Question Three // If you could have a book character for a sibling, who would it be, and what makes you two alike?

Ahhh. That’s hard. Anne Shirley would be amazing, because of her imagination and resistance to boys, as well as her love of stories. But Hermione would be cool as well, both of us being over-achieving bookworms. (her more so than I, however)

Question Four // If you’re a novelist, answer: How would your main character most likely spend his or her Friday night? If you’re not a novelist, answer: How would you most likely spend your Friday night?

My MC Lyric from Sparrow Singing would, if she could have her wish, spend her Friday night locked up in the silence of her closet, or jamming out on guitar on her bed.

But me? Friday nights at our house mean pizza. Homemade (most of the time. we all have those days) pizza. 😉

Question Five // What are the top three books you’re just dying to read?

OH MY GOODNESS.

A Time to Speak by Nadine Brandes (and A Time to Rise, but It’s not out yet and I haven’t ready A Time to Speak…)

Revolutionary by Krista McGee. (My library system does not have a copy. Not even an eBook. I was so mad when I found out. -.-)

Resist by Emily Ann Putzke.

Question Six // Can you briefly share the story behind your blog’s name?

Jeniqua Writes came from my nickname, Jeniqua. We have a family friend who is both notorious and fabulous at coming up with nicknames for everyone. Jeniqua is my nickname and has been for years. I thought it would make a cool blog name as well, even though I should probably change it to Jeneca Writes…

Question Seven // What do you consider to be your blog’s “branding,” or signature? What sets your blog or social media platform apart from others?

I’m still in the beginning months of blogging and finding my nitch in the blogging land. But I think I’m here to share my writing journey and thoughts along the way to both encourage and inspire others in their own writing journeys.

Question Eight // Who are a few of your favorite bloggers?

Nadine Brande’s Blog

Amanda Beguerie

Katie Grace

Sara Letournaeu

I am a notoriously bad blog reader, but I’m currently working on that. Comment your blog down below. I’d love to check it out!!

Question Nine // If you could go on a road trip of your dreams, where would you go and who would you spend time with?

Oh my goodness I’d want to go everywhere. I haven’t been out west much, so I would probably hit up all the national parks in that direction, and then stay in California for a few weeks. Not only does my story take place there, but I left a small piece of my heart when I visited there a few years back. *SIGH*

I would most likely take my mom with me, because we’re travel buddies and she’s basically my best friend. 😅

Question Ten // Using five words or less, tell a story.

Broken. Discovery. Confusion. Darkness. Redemption.

(^^ Sparrow Singing)

I’ve got to stop shamelessly plugging my WIP, but I’m planning something big and it has to with a) you and b) my story. Hopefully I’ll have a post on it by the end of this week *IS EXCITED*

Until Wednesday, friends!

Jeneca Z.

Have you ever participated in Purposeful Pages? What are some books you’re dying to read?

I dare you to tell me about your WIP in five words. 😉

 

 

7 thoughts on “Purposeful Pages Link Up: August Edition

  1. Thanks for participating, Jeneca! Love your answers. And I love the nickname Jeniqua. How do you pronounce it? Jen-EE-kwah? Jen-IH-kwah? JEN-ih-kwah (or is it -kah?)? XD

    Can’t wait to read more about your book! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

