Beautiful Books ft. Ember Burning (my NaNo 2016)

Yes this is another NaNoWriMo post. I will not apologize for adding another post of this type into your feed because YOU KNOW WHAT?!

It’s NaNo prep season. Sooo what else is there to discuss?? obvi

beautiful-books-ember-burning

These questions are a part of Cait and Hannah’s Beautiful Books link up. It’s usually called Beautiful People but, you know. If you’re interested if doing a post like this, go here.

NaNo season is upon us.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to do this since Ember Burning is actually the third book in a series. You’d think it would be full of spoilers right?

I’m actually a stinker (as my grandma would say) and all three books in my Cost of Truth are in different  perspectives… Sort of like the Giver Quartet?*

(*yes, yes I am evil.)

 

  1. What inspired the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

I cannot remember. This is bad. O_O I had the idea for the first book in this series, Sparrow Singing, back in December of 2013. Honestly, I thought it would be a standalone. Then it turned into two books. Both end in cliff hangers.

So I believe Ember Burning just came to me as I was trying to think “gosh dang it I have to finish this stinker!”

 

2. Describe what your novel is about!

Ember, a side character in Sparrow Singing is basically questioning her existence and then BAM: hospitals, concentration camps, trains, old friends and new troubles and all because she let someone buy her a slice of pizza…

…you’ll just have to go with it.

 

3. What is your book’s aesthetic?

I. am. Horrid. At. Aesthetic. Like, you think I could do it since I’m a photographer/Artist/person….I don’t think I can even spell that word without looking at it.

But I am a trooper. I will try:

never dying city lights. bass filled clubs.

hazy memories. eerily white rooms. staggering. questionable consciousness.* grimy camps. fleas. lice. gleaming train tracks stretching far. a wild california coming out from the ashes.

*so I’m not sure if staggering and questionable consciousness counts as aesthetic?

 

4. Introduce us to each of your characters!

Well, there’s Ember. If I introduce the rest of the cast you’ll get spoiled. You’ve met Ember before.

ly8

Ember is a singer trying to maintain her career and now an actor in a reality TV show she doesn’t care about. She’s reasonably go with the flow and the life at the party… after several drinks, of course. As she’s grown older she’s secluded her self. She’s not terribly internally confident, you can find her frequently binge eating and drinking.

 

5. How do you prepare to write? (Outline, research, stocking up on chocolate, howling, etc.?)

I wrote a post about outlining, which is usually what I should be doing right about now. [edit: I’m in the middle of outlining act two]

But it looks like this:

  • gathering up all of my random ideas
  • and trying to put them all on a page or two.
  • research stuff hopefully before NaNoWriMo actually starts 
  • try and finish lots of school assignments that are due in November by October 31st

 

6. What are you most looking forward to about this novel?

ALL OF IT. Plot twists and action and adventure, more than I usually get to write. Ya’ll are inspiring me to do crazy stuff.

my stuff music

 

7. List 3 things about your novel’s setting.

That works because I have three basic settings:

  • A glowing downtown, perfect in every way. Gleaming houses, manicured shrubbery, perfect boutiques, clubs, and state of the art facilities.
  • A grimy concentration camp in the dessert with the usual camp things: fences, guards, lice, fleas, hard labor. smoke.
  • Train tracks that stretch and connect like a web across the country side.

 

8. What’s your character’s goal and who (or what) stands in the way?

Ember has questions as she wants them answered. After living in denial for her entire life she comes face to face with a plot hole that she can’t jump over.

9. What are your book’s themes? How do you want readers to feel when the story is over?

deciding what to do with your life.

discovery.

truth.

trusting.

standing up for what is right in the face of mass disapproval.

So tell me about your novel, if you’re participating! Or just link me to your Beautiful Books post, I’d love to check it out. 🎉

7 thoughts on “Beautiful Books ft. Ember Burning (my NaNo 2016)

  1. This sounds awesome! (I love trains in books. I think I have mild obsession with them in my stories? Sooo much action can happen on them) I like this little hint of what to expect in Sparrow Singing. Which reminds me, I can’t wait to start beta-reading in the next week! I’m finally on school break so now I have time to devote myself to it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OK, the gif begs the question: Will there be dancing cats in this, too?? XD

    On a more serious note, this sounds like a really interesting story. I like the contrast between the glamorous city setting and the bleakness of a concentration camp. It reminds me a little of Panem in The Hunger Games, but maybe ever starker. Also, from what you shared about Ember’s character and the story’s three main settings… if Ember ends up where I think she’ll end up, she’s going to go through a LOT of personal growth. (Then again, I could be wrong about what you’re planning for this book. You might have something different in mind…?)

    I’m not participating in NaNo… But I’m 4 chapters away from finishing the edits on TKC. *eeeeeeee* Hoping to finish what’s left in the next 3 weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bwhahaha, sadly I have no dancing cats planned for my story… so far. XD
      And yes, I think you’re on the right path for sure… but thanking for stating that because I think as I was continuing to outline last night I got a little side tracked and didn’t consider what she’d been through…
      Oh my goodness congrats, Sara!! That’s so exciting. 🎉🎉🎉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh your book sounds most awesome! I LOVE IT. Also I bow to your skills for writing a series. 😀 I tryyyy to write series but I haven’t even written a sequel for about 5+ years omg.🙈🙊 I just always get out of touch with the characters. Although next year I hope to fix that! Huzzah! Anyway, I love your settings, and I adore your protagonist’s purple hair. 😉 Good luck with this and I hope it’s a fun one to write…and doesn’t end on a cliffhanger for you. 😉
    Thanks for joining in the linkup!

    Like

Leave a Reply

