NaNoWriMo Necessities for Survival

NaNoWriMo is nearly upon us. Less than a week until November 1st, I repeat, less than a week. Don’t think about it too hard.

nanowrimo-necessities

Everyone has there own assortment of things that they need or want for doing NaNo. I usually go in thinking I need more or making a big deal out of it… but honestly? I have three essentials and that’s it.

  1. Laptop.

I tried hand writing once. I wrote the first chunk of a chapter and it was a sad, sad attempt. Really. I am a typist at heart, even though I don’t actually type how they teach in schools with your fingers all set in the neat places. They tried to teach me in the third grade but alas, I never learned. *blushes*

I’ve gradually become a really speedy typist during NaNo. You just type and don’t look back. Ignore all the rest squiggles.

2. Some kind of guiding plot/outline/idea.

Seriously. If I don’t have SOMETHING to go off of, you can guarantee I’ll be freaking out two days in because *hyperventilates* how do I write beginning and who are all these people?!

3. A *specific* writing spot.

This one has changed over the years. I’ve gone from writing hunched over at the corner of my bed to writing curled up in my teeny-tiny closet (uncomfortable) to writing in my favorite chair with and blanket draped over it and with my laptop on my lap.

[I basically like being cozy.]

Right now I’m digging the whole chair-blanket set up and will probably do that again. However unlike last year I do own a real desk. We’ll see.

These are honestly my only requirements. There are a host of things that I would LIKE: (or think I would like, ha)

  • homemade mochas
  • or hot tea with honey
  • or maybe a hot vanilla chai latte?
  • writing in a coffee shop
  • dark chocolate rewards for every 1k I write (this might be a requirement)
  • SOME FORM OF A (SMALL) SOCIAL LIFE IN  (APPROPRIATE AND NON-DISTRACTING) MEASURES
  • other forms of creative expression to balance out the constant writing. like doodling. I doodle a lot during November.
  • a good Spotify playlist ( recently discovered how amazing music is to write to. I don’t know how I’ve written the past 5 years without some soundtrack playing in the background)
  • my $15 neon green mostly soundproof bluetooth headphones. (sort of like Beats. but cheaper. like, $285 dollars cheaper. XD) (you can see my headphones in the post header picture.)

But not all of those will be accomplishable every day. All I really need is my computer, my plan, and a comfy spot.

So how about you? What are your NaNoWriMo necessities for survival? Are you prepared for next Tuesday?

also!! I’ve been messing with my blog design because I will never be satisfied with a forever design. XD thoughts? Do you like it better or like the old one better?

 

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Necessities for Survival

  1. Ooh, this is good advice. Since this is my first year I’m reading aaaallll the NaNo tips posts that former survivors have to give. So I’ll make sure I have my own little writing spot, as well as homemade mochas, tea w/ honey, and hot vanilla chai lattes. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

