November 2016 Monthly Look-Back

November is over, I repeat: November is over. I’m alive. You’re alive too, if you’re reading this.

nov-2016-mlb

 

Highlights of the month:

Welp, You basically heard me talk about NaNo all month. That’s because writing was that is what I did all month. Besides, you know, writing papers and doing homework and randomly doing art projects. (gotta spice things up)

 

BUT YOU KNOW I never really did a wrap of NaNo. So here is a mini very-much-final-NaNo-update (I’ll shut up about it eventually… or not) inside this little blog section:

I finished my trilogy around 9pm. Then went through all the feelys as I validated my wordcount and watched the “congrats winner!” video which is one of the most enjoyable aspects of winning NaNo each year :’)

Here’s my final stats:Screen Shot 2016-11-30 at 9.21.15 PM.png

I ended up writing 93k. Even though Scrivener says 94k?? Oh well. I don’t mind. I’ve never written this many words in a single month ever. It’s like, 16k more than last year?!

Not sure what happened but, well, it happened. Still can’t really process? Like, did NaNo even happen? Did I even write a Trilogy?

(yes I did because I keep typing like it’s still NaNo and misspelling ALL the words)

 

Books I read:

Somehow in the midst of writing so many words several books got read. Some were for school work so they weren’t really optional? XD

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-5-45-02-pm

Narnia was a re-read but still very enjoyable. Finally finished Siren’s Song with ALL the feels.

I’m excited for this next month of reading because I picked up several goodies at the Library. (like Cinder which I tried to read once and Nimona and also Code Name Verity?)

We’ll see.

 

Blogging:

You were all here during November.

I blabbered, I tweeted, I gifed. You can read my NaNo updates for yourself below if you feel so inclined. Don’t worry they all open in new tabs.

nano-update-1

nano-update-2

nano-update-3

nano-update-4

 

In December:

Oooh dear. Once I convince my family to put the Christmas tree up (I think we’re doing it tonight, don’t panic) and I finally turn in all these papers and projects, I can start re-writes on Truth Remaining, book #2 in my trilogy.

Then I can crack into edits on Sparrow Singing #1, and get to all of my lovely beta reader feedback at the end of the month. :’)

I’m so thankful for the feedback and the time off to just think about my story as a whole. I hopefully have a clearer direction for it, lots of things to tie in and random world-buildy plot stuff to make it cooler.. It really helped for me to actually write the end of the trilogy and know exactly where my plot is going. Now I can see the big picture.

Not just know in my head where the big picture goes. But actually see it. Because frankly that outline I made? I followed it, yes, but not to the T. I wrote probably a good 10-20k that wasn’t in the plan. (That’s a good and bad thing, BTW)

 

How was your November? Did NaNoWriMo go well for you? What does December look like?

 

Save

17 thoughts on “November 2016 Monthly Look-Back

  1. GOOD GOSH, WOMAN. YOU WENT INSANE THIS MONTH.

    Almost 100k. Waht even. I just… AND YOU READ FOUR BOOKS. I cannot with you. xP

    But I am so happy. And yay for beta reader feedback! I’m glad it seems to be going well, no matter how scary it probably was. Eep! *flails excitedly for you*

    katie grace
    a writer’s faith

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You write so much! *is impressed * i hit a little over 50k, and just ordered my “proof copy”. SUPER excited for it to arrive. *nods*
    Hooe tthe editing and rewriting goes well! I always struggle with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh proof copy!! That’s so exciting ๐Ÿ˜€ and thank you, editing and rewriting is really hard but it’s *so* worthwhile.
      Hope your proof copy comes sooner than later!

      Like

  3. Scrivener probably rounded up your word count because you were within 50 words of 94k. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I think that’s standard publishing practice to round it up if it’s close to the next milestone.

    Anyways, WOW. Congrats on writing that many words in one month. That’s… just… wow. Great job.

    Did you get to put up your Christmas tree, btw? It’s a magical feeling to turn on its lights and put on the ornaments, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, okay. I was. That makes sense. Good to know!!
      And thank you! We did get our tree up. It’s an artIficial tree and the lights had died on it, so we had to remove them and put new ones on. All that’s left is the decorating! I love Christmas lights ๐Ÿ˜…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Narnia is the best! And I’ve heard of Sirens song, although I’ve never read it. Also, Codde Namve Verity, Nimona, and Cinder are all very good so you should read them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

