Beautiful People March 2017 Edition

At the prospect of another beta reader call out at the end of March, (hold on to your hats, folks, we’re getting there…) I thought it would be fun to do a Beautiful People link up. I haven’t done one of these for a good long while, so it’s a long time coming!

beautiful people march 2017

As always, it’s hosted by the lovely Cait and Sky.

We’ll be talking about Lyric, the main character in my book Sparrow Singing.

I babble a lot about my book over here (and on Twitter… and on Instagram… I’m making up for not talking about it in real life, you see) but if you’re unfamiliar with it, here’s the synopsis:

Sparrow isn’t her real name, but she doesn’t really have one.

It’s either her assigned number, the stage name she was branded with, or the childhood nickname given to her by her best friend.
In a school training up the nation’s next pop stars, she discovers something that was thought to have been stamped out years ago. It would shake the core of this realm built upon sand, free the people dying far from the core, and tear down the social division.
But to survive, you must thrive. You must have a voice, good looks, and musical talent, and it all must be perfect. If utter perfection isn’t reached, you’re thrown into the outer core, where people are aren’t heard from again.
When time comes, will Sparrow be able to sing?

It’s basically The Voice meets The Hunger Games with Jesus in it. *shrug* I don’t know if there’s any better way to describe it mash-up wise…

Anyway, here’s Lyric to answer some of the questions. 😀

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n201_zpsw3b8il6s

What is your favorite book, movie, play, etc? 

Living in such a hub of entertainment, I have both a lot to choice from and practically nothing. *sigh* It just all feels the same. Romance and drama get old after being soaking in it for fifteen years! I do like piano music, but we aren’t talking about music.

Is there anything you regret doing? 

Well, yes… I mean, doesn’t everyone? I’m sure Idella even has something she regrets… actually, I’d have to say Idella is my biggest regret. I should have distanced myself from her in the Nurtury, or at least stood up to her early on in our friendship. Maybe I wouldn’t be living like a pancake underneath her thumb all the time. 

Don’t tell her I said that. 

If you were sick or wounded, who would take care of you, and how? 

*laughs* Shrew, for sure. I mean. Peyton. Peyton… I have a feeling he would be super hyper about me getting better and wouldn’t leave my side, even if he does like to fly by the seat of his pants.

giphy
Peyton. Basically. Minus the red hair.

What would you say are five ways to win your heart… or friendship?

Ah, well, I haven’t thought of that before. I think if someone were to sit and listen to what I actually have to say, that would be one way. Also, if they don’t jump to conclusions or sell me out, that would be nice. Basically, if they don’t act like everyone else at the Institute, maybe like Ember and Peyton, I’ll be friends with them. 

Describe your typical outfit from top to bottom.

Hah, a typical outfit that I pick out for myself, or one that Idella picks out for me? I’d usually content in a pair of strappy sandals, jean shorts and an airy top, since it’s so hot in here… But Idella usually puts me in a dress. One that’s most likely too short, very thin, and shows everything.

What’s your favorite type of weather?

Sunshine, blissful sunshine with some perfect puffy clouds in the sky. I also love when the wind is blowing in from the west with a tinge of coolness on it, canceling out the brutal heat. I like thunderstorms, too, but as long as they don’t get too loud. 

Do you have any names or nicknames you’ve been called throughout your life? 

Depends on who you ask, but ever since I received the name Lyric in Phase One, Idella calls me Ly a lot. But Peyton and I… we’ve had nicknames for each other since before the naming assignment. I’m Sparrow, and he’s Shrew. Don’t ask what a shrew is, I think it’s some sort of mouse… How he would know that sort of thing, I don’t have a clue.

What makes your heart just feel alive?

Would it sound cliché to say music? Not necessarily music I make in studio or music produced in the Core, but music that I make on my own. Nothing else quite opens me up and puts me back together again. Nothing else in the entire Institute is so freeing as strumming around on my guitar or playing the cool keys of piano.

What about your characters? Is there anything they regret? How is your writing coming along this month?

5 thoughts on “Beautiful People March 2017 Edition

  1. Ooh this sounds like such an up-to-the-minute dystopia! Have you ever seen Charlie Brooker’s Black Mirror story ’15 Million Merits’? Your story synopsis has a similarly terrifying feel. Ha, and I’ve got a character called Sparrow too! (but it’s her actual name, not a nickname)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your pitch line for this story! It’s a great summary for an interesting idea. Also, Sparrow’s voice comes across really well in this — she feels like someone who would be fun to have a cup of tea with.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

