April 2017 Monthly Look-Back

April was… a month. Definitely a month. A month of craziness and not craziness and more craziness. Now it’s over?! Whaaat?

 

HIGHLIGHTS:

  • Sent Sparrow out to Betas! Twas scary, but I had 17 people sign up. o_O that was pretty neat.
  • Last month of classes. Oh. My. Goodness. I don’t think I realized how much I was gone at class until today.
  • Only a few more days till Alice in Wonderland opens and closes and I get my life back.
  • GREEN. SPRING HAS SPRUNG AND IT IS BEAUTIFUL.
  • Sewed a lot this month. (costumes for Alice lol)
  • Watched both Iron Man 1 and 2 this month. I’ve *always* despised Tony Stark with a burning passion, but I like him a little more now… but only a little.
  • Memorized lots and lots and lots of lines but probably not enough

 

BOOKS READ:

I, shockingly, read a lot more books than I thought I would this month, with the play and being in class and all. Of course, one of them was for class, and Hunger Games was a re-read…

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.25.53 AM

Speak of Hunger Games, I really might write a post on it. Last time I read it I was twelve, and while it was still brutal, I saw it in a different light this time around.

 

WRITING:

Well, I tried this month in writing. That first and second week were pretty strong. I did, however, lower my goal from 75k to 45k then to 35k. XD

I ended up with around 20k but then that third week came along. Virtually no writing got done.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 9.58.00 AM.png

I’m currently at as 37k of my goal of 35k, but only because I added the 8k I wrote before April. But it’s camp. All things go at camp. 😉

 

BLOGGING:

Mar 2017

Camp NaNo update 1

you have enough time

I also read some really great posts this month… y’all should go check them out. 😉

Who Are They? By Melissa Gravitis

BEWARE THE NANO BEAST by Katie Grace

Go Teen Writers: Shannon’s Journey to Publication

 

IN MAY:

Well, my blogoversary is coming up on the 8th! Keep your eyes peeled for Wednesday I’ll be needing your questions. I’m hoping to do a q & a vlog because that would be fun.

But besides that, I’m hoping to dive back into editing Sparrow with all my beta’s suggestions that have come in so far. It would be insanely cool to have it re-edited again by the end of May, but we’ll see. I’ll be content with half of it re-edited.

Things will be pretty sparse around here till the 12th, as I’ll be uber busy… see you then!

How was your month of April and Camp? Watch any good movies this month?

 

7 thoughts on “April 2017 Monthly Look-Back

  1. Beta-reading time. MEEP. :S But as intimidating as this part of the writing process is, the feedback you get can also be very helpful. But 17 beta-readers… that’s a lot! (I actually think I overdid it with my 10 for TKC, which might partly explain why I was so overwhelmed by it.) Good luck with Sparrow’s beta-readings, though, and with the play!

    April was a much better month than March. I’m sure the trip to Iceland had something to do with it. 😉 But in general it was less stressful, and I feel like I’m back on track writing-wise. As for movies, I saw “Gifted” on Friday, and it pulled all kinds of heartstrings. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess there’s always the chance some people might not get back with me… or at least, that’s what I’m assuming. XD It is really intimidating, but so crazy exciting it get feedback.

      I’m glad to hear you liked Gifted! I think I’m going to have to go see it, since Chris Evans is in it and isn’t Captain America. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That happened with me, too (I heard from 7 of the 10 betas). So yeah, there’s always a chance you won’t hear from someone, but that’s OK. As long as you get enough feedback that gives you a clear picture of what needs work and what’s already strong, that’s what counts.

        I KNOW. That was one of the first things I told my mother when we to see Gifted: “It’s nice to see Chris Evans play someone other than Captain America.” *lol* And he did a great job, too. But ohhhhhhhh Mckenna Grace’s character is ADORABLE. So unbelievably smart, yet so very much a little girl. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay congrats on getting writing done and getting betas!! I always find asking for betas is the MOST nerve-wracking thing of ever ahhhh.😱😱 😂 But also super exciting!! I hope you get lots of helpful feedback. Also yay for a Hunger Games reread! I keep meaning to do that…but never seem to get to it. #shame I also haven’t seen all the movies though so haha, I’m just behind on everything of ever.

    Oh and I saw the Fantastic Beasts movie! LOVE. Newt is such an adorkable creature. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve actually never seen the movies! (okay, besides a random few seconds here and there) When they came out I was barely a teen and my mom vetoed it. I’m glad she did, though, because those books are intense. XD
      And yay for Fantastic Beasts! Glad to hear you liked it. I really, really want to see it. Ah. ❤

      Like

  3. GOOD LUCK WITH ALICE I WAS IN A PLAY LAST YEAR AND HAD LIKE6 LINES AND IT WAS STILL HARD AHHHH the last week is always the hardest! You can do it! Also good job on reading books and actually writing. I wish I was that productive with my writing. But I’m not *cries*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. THANK YOU SO MUCH. It is hard. I keep forgetting random lines in the middle of scenes while practicing. >.< But it's nearly finished.
    Being productive in writing is so hard. I just have to sit down and force myself to do it, and often times I'll find that after I force myself to go for 10-15 minutes, I want to keep going. Of course, not all the time. There are days I don't want to write or edit anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

