7 Things About My Writing Process.

I haven’t done a beautiful people post since March… but these questions looked really good, so I chose some and here we are. 😀

(beautiful people is hosted by Cait of Paper Fury and Sky of Further Up and Further

7 things abt my writing process.png

1. How do you decide which project to work on?

Well… I’ll be honest. All the projects I’m currently working on are in a Trilogy. So deciding which to work on first has been relatively easy: I’m working on them in order. XD All three have been written, but the first book needs to be finished or I can’t pitch the trilogy to an agent.

 

2. How long does it usually take you to finish a project?

Confession time… I have never actually “finished an entire book” until this year. And even then, I’m not sure Sparrow is done yet. I need to read through her again. But to finish a first draft? That usually takes 30 days, because NaNoWriMo is the best.

 

3. Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?

I have gone through several writing spots in my life time, (my chair, a desk, my chair covered in a blanket, etc…) That’s really pretty much it. The only other thing I do is music. That was an acquired taste, though. Last January I started to see that people listened to movie soundtracks while writing. I thought that was cool… so I built my own playlist and have been building it ever since. XD

 

4. What time of day do you write best?

My writing time, as of late, has been all over the place. I’ve been writing in the morning (like, 45 minutes after I get up) but also sometimes in the midmorning around 10am. For a long while I wrote around 2pm, when I finished school work… but I also love to write late at night? Ugh. I need to get my game together.

5. Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing?

I started writing stories because they were in my head, and I wanted to tell them. It’s that simple. I loved to read and I loved stories, so I came up with some, wrote them down, and got hooked. Well… in between my other hundred hobbies. Writing was neglected for a while, until I took it up hardcore at the end of 2015/ beginning of 2016. Now I’m trying to make it more than a hobby.

I keep writing because I have a story that’s written, and I want it to get better and better. I want to share it.

6.What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?

Oh man. Probably the death of this girl in a historical fiction novel that I wrote. She and a friend, one of the slaves her father owned, were escaping into freedom… but the girl nearly drowned in a river and escapee friend had to bring her back to the shore… then she died. And the escapee had to deal with the consequences that a white girl drowned trying to save her.

oops lol

7. What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?

Well, lemme treat this as my mid-way-through-the-year-goal-check-up and let’s see what goals I set for myself in January…

writing-goals-for-2017.png

  • Finish editing Sparrow Singing // YES. I finished that round of editing. Now I’m on another. oops.
  • Get Sparrow to another round of betas // check check check.
  • Give Truth Remaining a single read-through edit //… um… well, we’re working on this for Camp this month.
  • Prepare all the necessities for querying agents. // this is also in the works! I have a small folder of agents to query, and this month I’m hoping to meet with another author to get some help on this.

 

That was fun! You’re welcome to steal my chosen seven questions, or check out all ten of them over at Cait’s blog.

See ya’ll next Sunday. :3

 

 

14 thoughts on “7 Things About My Writing Process.

  1. This is really interesting! I’ve never written a whole book (yet) but I’ve written lots of poetry and short stories. Your writing schedule sounds erratic, but it’s clearly effective 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m working on a series as well, and I totally know the struggle of having all these other awesome books that won’t get published until that first one is finished and published. Good luck on finishing your book and meeting your 2017 goals!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That historical fiction sounds HEARTBREEAKING. I would love to write a historical fiction book some day, but at the moment, it’s just too much research. But I love to read history. At the moment I’m writing a contemporary, my first novel was a dystopia, and I have a fantasy trilogy planned, so I dont’ really stick to one genre. Thanks for sharing your writing process!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

